Lesson from a Lizard

lizardHaving a great memory is both a blessing and a curse.

Eleven years ago, I was getting ready to walk out on my porch area after an aikido class on a Thursday night. While sliding the glass door open, I accidentally squashed a little lizard. It was a horrible feeling. Yes, there are millions of these 3 inch creatures, but it is was a living creature nonetheless.

Today, I did a short run to prepare for my marathon on Sunday. It is unseasonally cold here in Florida. With the wind chill factor, temperatures are near freezing. Very unusual.

I needed to make sure I completed this run so I would be prepared for the grand event. Half way through, I noticed a lizard on the street that was barely moving. Stopping and gently touching it, the reptile was on the verge of freezing to death. Despite my marathon prep mission, I knew this was my chance.

I picked up the earth-colored creature and cupped it in my palm, blocking it from the wind and adding some heat to the near-frozen creature, n immediate effect as s/he started turning green, as its head peeked out from the “palm cave.” It would live.

On my last mile, I thought about the experience 11 years ago and felt a sense of making amends. One lizard carelessly killed. Another saved from the cold. I realize my mistakes are my life. Nevertheless, this could have been avoided.

About 1/2 mile from home, I realized the message was missed. It was not about making amends. It was about accidents and being present.

The word accident comes from Latin and means “happening.” In truth, it really means lack of awareness, though every dictionary may “disagree.” Most, if not every accident could be avoided, provided all parts of us are living in the Now. Drop the iPhones, texting, thoughts about yesterday, conversations about tomorrow and be present, and it is virtually impossible to have an accident. Do one thing at a time and be completely immersed in said project.

Gifts come from unusual places sometimes. I gave the lizard the gift of warmth. The lizard gave me a the Gift of Presence.

Today was quite a good day.

3 thoughts on “Lesson from a Lizard

  1. I love the positive vibrations, and the sentiments about the value of the life of lizards and making up damage done to one lizard to another. Keep on with the universal love, brother.

  2. Pingback: January 2014 Rundown: 441 Links | Programming Life

Leave a comment